The Blue Badge Access Awards are back after our last outing in 2019. We want to inspire architects, designers, staff and proprietors to reach higher standards, creating exceptional venues that make everyone a ‘first class citizen’ with thoughtful, design-led accessibility. The final for 2022/23 is on 28th April 2022 at award winning Hotel Brooklyn, Manchester ……….

If you want to attend buy tickets at Eventbrite and very reasonable they are. Hosted by Mik Scarlet there will be Food, Drink, Entertainment, the Ludicrous Loo Award (see a sample below) and special guests as well as our 2022/23 Nominees, who are:

HEWI Award, Best Luxury Hotel

Great Scotland Yard, London

Nimb Hotel, Copenhagen

Westin Hotel, London

Sea Containers, London

‘Liberty’ Award, Best Boutique Hotel

Hog Hotel, Lowestoft

Canvas & Campfires, Lampeter

Telegraph Hotel, Coventry

Village, Basingstoke

A Little Bit of Heaven, Cornwall

Calon y Fferri, Camarthen

Blue Badge Style Award, Best Bar

The Londoner 8 Bar

Tayer Elementary, London

The 40 Elephants, Great Scotland Yard

Runyon’s, Hotel Brooklyn

Johnny Walker Bar, Edinburgh

Conran Award, Best Restaurant

Aizle, Edinburgh

Fischers, London

Wood, Manchester

Nerdy Coffee Co, Shrewsbury

Warehouse, Covent Garden

Historic England, Best Venue in an Historic Building

Blenheim Palace

Warwick Castle

Cavendish Hotel, Bakewell

Ely Cathedral

Great Scotland Yard Hotel, London

HEWI Award, Best Accessible Toilet

8 Bar, The Londoner

Marsham Court Hotel, Bournemouth

Tate, Liverpool

Salvation Bar, Hotel Brooklyn, Manchester

The Shangri-La hotel, London

Space Centre, Leics.

Jose Pissarro, London

Kricket, Soho

Great Scotland Yard Hotel

Exception Award, Ludicrous (Accessible)

To be announced at the Awards Ceremony – Here’s a Sample

Casa Bastillo, Barcelona

Fleetwood Beach Wheelchairs

Strawberry Fields, Liverpool

Lothian Buses, Scotland

Hover travel

Grass Roots Community Centre, Romania

 Purcell Architects, Norfolk County Hall

People’s Lift, Sesame Access

Inst. of Hospitality Award, Above & Beyond

Legoland, Windsor

Roarr Dinosaur Adventure, Norwich

kelly Staunton, Mottram hall Cheshire

Crumbs Project, Bournemouth

Bear Grylls Adventure Experience, Birmingham

Liverpool FC Stewarding Team

Hannah Scullion at Dine The Quarry House, Kent

Vindomora Lodges, Northumberland

Bespoke Hotels Award, Access Champion of The Year

Dee Jones, Sense Adventures

Lorraine Wing, Blenheim Palace

David Croft, A Haven For Others

Craig Johnson, Vindomora Lodges

Olivia Sklenar, Lothian Buses

Amy Francis-Smith, RIBA Architect

Neil Chapman, Hover Travel

Paul Bayliss, GM Hotel Brooklyn

Alex Vasquez, Activist, Disability & LGBTQI+

Celia Thomas Prize, Conceptual Design for Disabled Guests

To be Announced at The Awards Ceremony

The Microsoft Inclusive Guest Innovation

CL Design

Centaur Robotics

Kakana Accessible Fitness

Barnes Creative

The winners will be posted here after the 28th!!

Leave a Reply